Organization Page: Bermuda Race Organizing Committee

Members Only Content

This page contains content for members only.  To access it, please log in.

The Newport-Bermuda race is an integral part of the CCA.

For a complete roster of the organizing committee, please visit their website at

First Last Role (ex off.)
Jay Gowell BROC Chairman
Kenyon Kellogg BROC Vice Chairman
David Brown BROC Vice Chairman/Race and Communications
Stephen Kempe BROC Vice Chairman/Bermuda Ops
Jeff Eberle BROC Treasurer
Jon Corless RBYC Commodore
David Benevides RBYC Vice Commodore
James MacDonald RBYC Hon. Secretary
Mark Smith RBYC Treasurer
Nicole Butterworth RBYC Sailing Office and Club Secretary
Brad Willauer CCA Commodore
Bob Medland CCA Vice Commodore
Chris Otorowski CCA Secretary
Peter Chandler CCA Treasurer
Paul Hamilton CCA Fleet Captain
William Ash Communications Co-Chair
Bruce Berriman Newport Ops
Jim Binch NBR Foundation
Frank Bohlen Gulf Stream/Weather
Johnathan Brewin Steering
John Brooks CG Liaison
John Burnham Media Co-Chair
Bob Darbee Awards Chair
Fred Deichmann Newport Ops/Steering
A.J. Evans Docs/Steering
Stephen Foraste Registration/Sailgate/Yellowbrick
Janet Garnier Newport Ops Chair
Hank Halsted Qualifications/Superyachts
Joe Harris Green Team/Sailors for the Sea
Dick Holliday Participation Co-Chair/ Ambassador Program
Carter Holliday Awards
Andrew Kallfetz Registration/Sailgate/Yellowbrick
Somers Kempe Webmaster
Mark Lenci SAS Coordinator
Bob Mathews Participation Co-Chair
Mike McBee Sponsorship Co-Chair
Chris McNally Communications Co-Chair
Ralph Naranjo Race Safety Officer
Nick Nicholson Technical Chair
Leatrice Oatley Finishing Line
John Osmond Principal Race Officer/Steering Co‑Chair
Will Passano Sponsorship Co-Chair
James Phyfe III Chief Inspector/Steering
Steve Prime Quartermaster
John Robinson CCA Safety & Seamanship Chair
John Rousmaniere Historian
Peter Shrubb International Jury – Chair
Jim Teeters Technical/Chief Scorer
John Winder Media Co-Chair/Steering Co‑Chair/ Technical
Jeff Wisch Medical Chair

Bermuda Race Organizing Committee

and RBYC Sailing Office
6 Wright Farm
Concord MA 01742-5403 US
h: (978) 369-6999
35 Watch Hill
East Greenwich RI 02818-1671 US
m: (401) 225-4728
Bermuda Ops
Valley Green
3 Harbour Road
Warwick WK04 BM
h: +1 (441) 238-1455 [Bermuda]
5609 Crystal Springs Dr. NE
Bainbridge Island WA 98110-2029 US
h: (206) 842-6109
Race and Communication
81 Morrison Ave.
Middletown RI 02842-5628 US
h: (401) 847-0051
Fleet Surgeon
21 Edmunds Road
Wellesley MA 02481-2907 US
h: (781) 235-6867
m: (781) 856-6412
4 Harbour Rd.
Warwick WK04 BM
h: +1 (441) 236-7301 [Bermuda]