fbpx Blue Water | Cruising Club of America Skip to main content


Blue Water Medal

The prestigious Blue Water Medal was inaugurated by the Cruising Club of America in 1923 to:

reward meritorious seamanship and adventure upon the sea displayed by amateur sailors of all nationalities, that might otherwise go unrecognized.

Blue Water Medallists have included such luminaries of the sailing world as Rod Stephens, Eric and Susan Hiscock, Sir Francis Chichester, Eric Tabarly, Pete Goss, Bernard Moitessier, and Sir Robin Knox-Johnston..

The Medal itself was designed by Arthur Sturgis Hildebrand, a member of the Cruising Club of America, who was one of the crew of the yacht Leiv Eiriksson, lost in the Arctic with all hands in September of 1923

For 160,000 miles of remarkable cruising in his 57-foot ketch. Prior to 1994, two circumnavigations via Antarctica. From 1994 to 2000 circled west to east from St. Thomas, V. I. to Seattle. Highlights included a Northwest Passage attempt stopped by impassable ice and extensive cruising in Europe, India, Asia, and Australia. Swanson was dismasted in the South Pacific and sorely beset by ice floes in the Arctic, but through good seamanship, brought Cloud Nine through all danger.

For a remarkable voyage in his 42-foot sloop to Antarctica from Patchogue, Long Island, via Panama Canal, Galapagos, Chile, Port Lockroy on the Antarctic Peninsula, South Georgia Island, Capetown, and home by way of St. Martin and Bermuda. 21,784 miles, 10 months with crew of 1 or 2 young men. Wrote copious descriptions of his cruise, and produced special guide to the Patagonian passages.

For a circumnavigation from 1977 to 1983 in a 30' sloop, Ding Dinques, followed by a circumnavigation of the Pacific Basin in a 38' sloop, Maris Stella, from Panama to Japan, Alaska and Cape Horn, in a voyage commencing and terminating in France, all accomplished with competence, grace and humor, in the best tradition of amateur sailing.