fbpx Nye | Cruising Club of America Skip to main content

The Richard S. Nye Trophy

The Richard S. Nye trophy is a CCA member lifetime achievement award for meritorious service and seamanship in long-distance cruising.

The trophy is a perpetual trophy in honor of Richard S. Nye, Commodore of the Cruising Club of America 1974-1975, Vice Commodore 1972-1973, and Treasurer 1959-1970. The trophy is to be awarded at the discretion of the Governing Board of the Cruising Club of America to a member who has brought distinction to the Club by meritorious service, outstanding seamanship, outstanding performance in long distance cruising or racing, statesmanship in the affairs of international yachting, or any combination of the above. The award may be as often as annually but need not be made each year.

This trophy is donated by the many crew members who have enjoyed the privilege of sailing aboard Richard S. Nye’s various yachts named Carina. A record of their names shall be maintained with the deed of gift in the archives of the Cruising Club of America.

If in any year, the Governing Board determines it to be in the best interest of the Club, and consistent with the philosophy of yachting as exemplified by Richard S. Nye’s outstanding record in this field, it may by unanimous vote at a duly called meeting of the Board, amend, alter, or rescind any of the terms of this dedication without notice or consent of the donors of the trophy.

For bringing distinction to the Club over years of intensive but quiet service as: organizer of the Club's 75th Anniversary Celebration; co-editor and publisher of the CC News in the early 90's; board member and secretary of the Bonnell Cove Foundation; co-author of the Suddenly Alone handbook; organizer of the 2004 Mystic Spring Meeting ... all the while a dedicated sailor and participant at Club events.
For contributions to the Club during 46 years of membership, including Rear Commodore, Chesapeake Station, 23 years on the Awards Committee, six as chairman, his lifetime devotion to ocean sailing, participation in fifteen Newport-Bermuda races, and high latitude cruising including a notable arctic voyage that earned him the Blue Water Medal.
For service to the Club in a number of capacities, including Rear Commodore of the Boston Station, chairman of many cruise committees, including the 60th Anniversary Cruise and the 75th Anniversary cruise, membership committee chairman, and for his insightful work on the paper, "Views on a Vision for the CCA."